Dunbartonshire Wind Ensemble


Musical Director: Michelle McCabe

Michelle has conducted DWE since 2019.

Michelle graduated from the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland with BA (Hons) and a postgraduate degree in Orchestral Studies, winning the Governor’s Recital Prize for Chamber Music. She studied further at the Banff Centre for the Arts in Canada and then developed her workshop and creative music-making skills at The Guildhall School of Music and Drama. This led to performing regularly for Yehudi Menuhin’s Live Music Now! scheme, leading workshops for Artlink Central and performing with the National Youth Orchestra of Scotland.

As a freelance musician Michelle has performed with many orchestras and chamber ensembles including the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, the Red Note Ensemble, the Auricle Ensemble and the Scottish Flute Trio.  For the last 20 years she has played sub-principal flute with the Scottish Ballet Orchestra. 

Michelle is Associate Conductor of the Dunbartonshire Concert Band and the Musical Director of the High School of Glasgow Wind Band and Flute Ensembles.  She also works with the DCB clarinet ensemble, creating programmes of music for local community concerts.

Michelle is the flute tutor for various groups including The National Youth Wind Ensemble of Scotland, West of Scotland Concert Band and Training Band, Strathclyde University Concert Band and The University of Scotland Symphony Orchestra.

The Committee (as of October 2023)

  • Laura Hunter (chair, librarian)
  • Ellen Beattie (treasurer)
  • Jan Wallace (events coordinator)
  • Heather Brown
  • Claire Warren
  • Gillian Robson
  • Michelle McCabe (MD ex officio)

50th anniversary committee

  • Laura Hunter (chair)
  • Kirsty Donaldson
  • Ailsa-Mary Gold
  • Gillian Robson
  • Sharon McKay
  • Michelle McCabe (MD ex officio)

The band

Piccolo/Flute: Ellie Stewart
Flute: Cara Andrews, Kevin Digges, Georgia Ferry, Joan Gemmell, Emily Hutchinson, Louise Muir, Alicia Venables, Claire Warren, Heather Wright
Oboe: Ailsa-Mary Gold, Ruairidh Nelson
E Flat Clarinet: Laura Hunter
Clarinet: Catriona Bishop, Evan Clearie, Kirsty Donaldson, Kirsty Douglas, Geoff Haydock, Maisie Leitch, Laura Manuel, John McGregor, Holly McKay, Fiona McLean, Jacqui McMahon, Daisy Renton, Krista Robson, Amanda Sutherland, Fiona Wright
Bass Clarinet: Simon Wright
Bassoon: Beth Cornwell, Erika Fenocchi, Harriet Fishley, Lorraine Sherry
Alto Saxophone: Aileen Blower, Roland Ingram, Paul Mulheran, Gillian Robson, Sheila Rodger, Jan Spence
Tenor Saxophone: Robert Kennedy, Sharon McKay, Michele Muir, Jan Wallace
Baritone Saxophone: Ian Mackay
French Horn: Doug Bertram, Anne Burton, Fiona Ross, Stewart Watts
Trumpet/Cornet: Ellen Beattie, Donna Kiddie, Max Robeson, Robyn Wilkin
Trombone: Michael Burton
Euphonium: Martin Glegg, David Welsh
Tuba: vacancy
Bass Guitar: Keith Vass
Percussion: Laura Baker, Heather Brown, Calum Burns, Mel Tarelli, Kevin McLaughlin, Craig Vassie

Founding Father: Trevor Green

Text to come